Christ Church hosts the Diocesan Bishop candidates on May 3, 7-9 p.m. in the Contemporary Worship Space.


Convenient parking is available on the 2nd level of our parking garage (enter from San Juan Dr.) with a short walk to the first set of doors, 2nd Floor Westbury Hall.

Candidates and Important Dates

Dear Christians in the Diocese of Florida,

The Standing Committee is honored to present to you the following slate of candidates for our Bishop Coadjutor and 9th Bishop of the Diocese of Florida (in alphabetical order by last name):

The Rev. Canon Wiley Ammons – Rector, Episcopal Church of the Redeemer, Jacksonville, FL
The Rev. Charlie Holt – Associate Rector for Teaching and Formation, Episcopal Church of St. John the Divine, Houston, TX
The Rev. Canon Fletcher Montgomery – Rector, Holy Trinity Episcopal Church, Gainesville, FL
The Rev. Canon Dr. Miguel Rosada – Rector, St. Luke’s-San Lucas Episcopal Church, Jacksonville, FL
The Rev. Canon Beth Tjoflat – Canon for Urban Ministry, Diocese of Florida, Jacksonville, FL

Information about each of the candidates, including picture, biographical information, essay answers, and curriculum vitae, can be found at

We thank God for the hard and holy work of the Nominating Committee, which has worked for nearly a year in prayerful discernment, diligent conversation, and too many Zoom calls to count.  This process has been led by the Holy Spirit the whole way through, and we are confident that the Spirit will carry us to the end.

Candidate Meet and Greet sessions will be held around the diocese May 2-7.  Wide participation in these events is greatly encouraged; parish delegates and canonically resident clergy especially should make every effort to attend. 

Bishop Howard and the Standing Committee have called for a Special Convention to be held on Saturday, May 14 for the purpose of electing the Bishop Coadjutor.  The Convention will be held at St. John’s Cathedral in Jacksonville, and details about registration and the agenda will be available soon.  If Covid numbers spike again, the diocese has the capacity to host a virtual convention. All parishes must ensure that their appointed delegates to Convention and alternates, complete with contact information, are recorded at the Diocesan Office. (If this information was included in your recent Diocesan Annual Report, this is sufficient.)

We hope that you will take every opportunity to get to know, and know about, these wonderful candidates.  Let us each be grateful for the considerable sacrifice each candidate is making in simply offering themselves to this process. We ask that you pray diligently for each of them, for their families, and for the congregations they serve. We also ask that as you discuss these candidates, whether in-person or through social media channels, you please do so with Christian charity and in such manner as is a blessing to the Lord and His church. 

Additionally, this can be a stressful and anxious time for these faithful candidates, and none of us wants to contribute to any sense of overwhelm.  To that end, we ask that you refrain from direct social media engagement with the candidates themselves, and there should be no special forums or parties for any individual candidate.  The appropriate way for the diocese to get to know the candidates is through the Meet and Greet sessions in May.

Finally, as we pray collectively for God’s will, we invite you to replace the weekly prayer for the Nominating Committee that you have been praying in your congregations for the last nine months with the following prayer:

Almighty and sovereign Lord, who is faithfully leading us in our search for the next Bishop of Florida, we give you thanks for the candidates who have submitted their names for consideration. We ask your care, guidance, and protection for each of them, their families, and their congregations. By your Holy Spirit, watch over our diocese, that we may seek only your will through the remainder of this process; through Jesus Christ our Lord.  Amen.

With every expectation of the Spirit’s joyful guidance,

The Standing Committee
The Rev. Joe Gibbes, President
Arthur Crofton
Ben Hill
Jackie Jones
The Rev. Sarah Minton
The Rev. Teresa Seagle